Thank you for attending CNA2022! We look forward to hosting you, February 22-24, 2023 for our next CNA Conference and Trade Show.

Canada has pledged to phase out coal by 2030, reduce greenhouse gas emissions 40% to 45% below 2005 levels by 2030, create a net-zero electricity grid by 2035 and achieve net-zero emissions by 2050. This means that Canada will need to triple the amount of electricity it produces over the next thirty years. To address the climate emergency and meet growing energy demands, we need all available sources of clean energy – including nuclear energy. There is no realistic pathway to net-zero emissions by 2050 without nuclear. Net zero needs nuclear due to the scale of the challenge to decarbonize our economies. Nuclear can provide the clean electricity needed to decarbonize electricity grids and power the electrification of transportation and buildings. It also has the potential to decarbonize heat and power in Canada’s industrial sectors. CNA2022 will bring together industry experts to explore and advance nuclear’s role as an essential partner in achieving Canada’s climate targets and reaching Net Zero.


Click the session to see more details.
Program subject to change.

Tuesday, April 12, 2022
  • 12:00 - 20:30
    Conference and Trade Show Registration
  • 13:00 - 16:00
    Public Affairs Seminar
  • 13:00 - 16:00
    Regulatory Affairs Seminar
  • 14:00 - 17:00
    Student Participation Program Sessions
  • 15:00 - 20:30
    Opening of the CNA Trade Show
  • *NEW TIME* 15:30 - 17:30
    Bruce Power Suppliers Forum
  • 18:00 - 20:30
    Welcome Reception
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
  • 07:30 - 08:30
    Breakfast and Introductory Remarks
  • 08:30 - 08:45
    Opening Prayer
  • 08:45 - 09:05
    Welcome Remarks from CNA Board Chair and CNA President and CEO
  • 09:05 - 09:20
    Minister of Natural Resources (invited)
  • 09:20 - 09:50
    Keynote and Fire Side Chat with Gerald Butts, Vice Chairman, Eurasia Group
  • 09:50 - 10:30
    Refreshment Break
  • 09:50 - 10:30
    Skills and Competency for Canada's Net Zero Workforce: Our Competitive Advantage *separate registration required
  • 10:30 - 11:30
    Panel Discussion: The Future of Jobs in Nuclear
  • 11:30 - 12:00
    Economic Reconciliation, Indigenous Partnerships and a Pathway to a Clean Energy Future
  • 12:00 - 14:00
    Lunch and Keynote by Chief Emily Whetung
  • 14:00 - 14:15
    Remarks from Laurie Swami, President and CEO, NWMO
  • 14:15 - 15:00
    Utilities at the Heart of Net-Zero
  • 15:00 - 15:45
    Refreshment Break
  • 15:45 - 16:15
    Remarks from Rumina Velshi, President and CEO, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
  • 16:15 - 16:30
    Remarks from Guy Lonechild, CEO, First Nations Power Authority
  • 16:30 - 17:30
    Panel Discussion: SMRs
  • 17:30 - 19:30
    Trade Show Reception and Prize Draw
Thursday, April 14, 2022
  • 07:00 - 07:45
  • 08:00 - 08:15
    Remarks from Fred Dermarkar, President and CEO, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited
  • 08:15 - 09:00
    Panel Discussion: Supply Chain Partnerships
  • 09:00 - 09:15
    Remarks from Joe McBrearty, President and CEO, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
  • 09:15 - 10:00
    Panel Discussion: Innovation and the Transformation of Nuclear
  • 10:00 - 10:30
    Refreshment Break
  • 10:30 - 11:30
    Panel Discussion: Pathways to Net-Zero
  • 11:30 - 12:00
    Ontario Minister of Energy: The Honourable Todd Smith
  • 12:00 - 13:00


Registration is now open. Click here to register today!

Please note: All registrations for the February event date will be carried over for the rescheduled event dates of April 12-14, 2022. If you have any questions, please email us at

CNA2022 Registration Terms and Conditions must be agreed to prior to registering and is available here.

Payment Terms

To qualify for the Early Bird fee, registration and payment must be received by CNA by December 20, 2021, 5:00 pm (EST).

To qualify for the Regular fee, register by March 21, 2022, 5:00 pm (EST) and payment is received between December 20, 2021, 5:01 pm (EST) and March 21, 2022, 5:00 pm (EST).

The Late Registration fee will apply to all payments received after March 21, 2022, 5:00 pm (EST).


James Scongack

Chief Development Officer & Executive Vice President, Operational Services, Bruce Power

Marc Arsenault

Business Manager and Secretary-Treasurer, Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario

Jill Baker

Vice-President, Operations, Canadian Nuclear Association

Gerald Butts

Vice Chairman, Eurasia Group

Professor Claudette Commanda

Special Advisor to the Dean on Reconciliation, University of Ottawa

Julianne den Decker

Senior Vice President, Project Delivery Nuclear Canada, Candu Energy

Fred Dermarkar

President and CEO, Atomic Energy of Canada

Jason Dion

Mitigration Research Director, Canadian Climate Institute

JP Gladu

Principal, Mokwateh

David Harris

President and CEO, Kinectrics

Ken Hartwick

President and CEO, Ontario Power Generation

Kathryn Hayashi

President and CEO, TRIUMF Innovations

Andy Hayward

Director, Advanced Reactor Development, NB Power

Jerry Hopwood

President, University Network of Excellence in Nuclear Engineering (UNENE)

Dazawray Landrie-Parker

Director, Nuclear Sector, Creative Fire

Guy Lonechild

Chief Executive Officer, First Nations Power Authority

John MacQuarrie

Chair, CNA Board

Robin Manley

Vice-President, New Nuclear Development, Ontario Power Generation

Joe McBrearty

President and CEO, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories

Doug Opseth

Director of Generation Asset Management and Planning, SaskPower

Mike Rencheck

President and CEO, Bruce Power

Saskatchewan Minister of Energy and Resources

MLA for Saskatoon Stonebridge-Dakota

Kim Rudd

Former MP for Northumberland-Peterborough South and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Natural Resource

Eddie Saab

President, Canada, Westinghouse Electric Company

Hon. Todd Smith

Ontario Minister of Energy

Laurie Swami

President and CEO, Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Greg Thede

Vice President, Nuclear Strategy and Business Services

Rumina Velshi

President and CEO, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Raj Verma

Lead, NextGen, Bruce Power

Chief Emily Whetung

Chief, Curve Lake First Nation

Dan Whicklum

President and CEO, The Transition Accelerator, Co-Chair of the Net-Zero Advisory Board

Alice Wong

Senior Vice-President and Chief Corporate Officer, Cameco


Click here for CNA2022 sponsorship opportunities and contact us today!


Hotel Reservation Information

The Westin Ottawa
11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1N 8S7
Tel.: (613) 560-7000 or 1-800-937-8461
Fax: (613) 234-5396

The Westin Ottawa is now sold out.

Les Suites is offering a preferred rate for CNA2022 attendees. Use password: 263384 with this link to book your room today.

Les Suites Premiere One Bedroom Suites for $175/night. Reserve by calling 1-800-267-1989 or email

Other nearby hotels are:
Novotel Hotel
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Lord Elgin Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa

SCAM ALERT: If you are contacted by Exhibitor Housing Services to book your room for the CNA conference please note The Westin Ottawa and the CNA conference planners are NOT affiliated in any way with this company. The CNA does not utilize a housing service.

Contact Us

General Inquiries:


Jessica Clifford
Manager, Membership and Events


Jessica Clifford
Manager, Membership and Events

Media Inquiries:

Christopher Gully
Director of Communications


Gloria Mbelu Mufuta
Registration Coordinator
Golden Planners